Why is this controversial?Speaking in tongues

Is your church one of those tongue talking churches?  The better question may be, why isn’t your church one of those? 

I wonder if you would have felt comfortable in a church service lead by the apostle Paul?

For all of the truth seekers out there, you might want to check out the Scriptures below from the book of 1Corinthians chapter 14.  Remember these scriptures have been penned by the apostle Paul, but inspired (God Breathed) of the Holy Ghost.  I would encourage you to read the whole chapter but don’t allow the versus below to get lost in your religious training.  

1 Corinthians 14

5 I would that ye all spake with tongues but rather that ye prophesied: for greater is he that prophesieth than he that speaketh with tongues, except he interpret, that the church may receive edifying.
12 Even so ye, forasmuch as ye are zealous of spiritual gifts, seek that ye may excel to the edifying of the church.

13 Wherefore let him that speaketh in an unknown tongue pray that he may interpret.

14 For if I pray in an unknown tongue, my spirit prayeth, but my understanding is unfruitful.

15 What is it then? I will pray with the spirit, and I will pray with the understanding also: I will sing with the spirit, and I will sing with the understanding also. (In context:Praying in the spirit is praying in tongues)
18 I thank my God, I speak with tongues more than ye all:
26 How is it then, brethren? when ye come together, every one of you hath a psalm, hath a doctrine, hath a tongue, hath a revelation, hath an interpretation. Let all things be done unto edifying.
38  But if any man be ignorant, let him be ignorant.

39 Wherefore, brethren, covet to prophesy, and forbid not to speak with tongues.
40 Let all things be done decently and in order.

Leave a Reply

