Don’t quench the Spirit of God

Don’t quench the spirit of God

1 Thessalonians 5:19 “Quench not the Spirit.”
Holy spirit / ghost same thing

Ephesians 4:30And grieve not the holy Spirit of God, whereby ye are sealed unto the day of redemption.

Quench- to extinguish or put out

Grieve – to cause sorrow or pain of mind or heart

The Spirit of God has not been denied deity in the church. But he has been greatly neglected and not greatly honored in today’s church. I fear in many cases the body of Christ today has quenched the fire of the Holy Spirit in our midst and caused great sorrow to the Holy Ghost.

I believe the greatest pain the Holy Ghost feels comes from the rejection and the quenching of his moving in our churches and our life.

There are some churches that exist and are very functional as an organization. But if the Holy Spirit would ever chose to leave that church they may never know it.

I am thankful to be a part of a church where the Spirit of the Lord with all nine gifts and all nine fruit are not only excepted but celebrated.

* I feel that most Christians and churches that grieve the Holy Spirit do so because they are unfamiliar with his work. If they understood the work of the Holy Spirit they may be more open to is moving.

Who is the Holy Spirit?
He is not a creepy ghost that brings fear. He does not haunt the souls of men. The Holy Spirit is not enthusiasm. He is Not energy (positive or negative) nor is he the personification of God. He is not acting like God or just representing God, but he is part of the triune deity of God. He is a person with all the characteristics of a person. He is God in us with us all around us. You must understand He is not a person like you and I bodily. He is not Measured by hight and weight or mass, He is a spirit being. He has substance. Personality, he can love and desire, and rejoice and grieve. He has will, passion, furry, and disgust. He is deity he is God and he is present here.

Because he is Spirit and not merely matter. He is not limited to space nor restricted in geography. Because he is not nearly matter he is able to transcend matter. He is able to move in and through vessels of substance. He is able to come in and work through you and I has we are open to the moving of the Holy Spirit in us. But he is also not limited to move in me and you at the same time. He is omnipresent. He has the ability to everywhere at once, and he can remain here and there and everywhere that he is welcomed.

Church history says he is God, we say he is God, but most importantly the Scriptures say he is God.

A W Tozer said And I wholeheartedly agree (mind you this is years before the Toronto blessing). He said. “I wouldn’t believe in the archangel if he came to Toronto with wings spread at 12 feet shining like an atom bomb just after it goes off, if he can’t give me chapter and verse.”

Psalm. 139:7 speaks of the Holy Spirit’s omnipresences… Whither shall I go from thy Spirit or whether shall I flee from thy presence.
Job 26:13 he is creator… By his spirit he garnished the heavens.
2corinthian 3:17 He is Called Lord.. Now the Lord is that spirit and where the Spirit of the Lord is there is liberty
Commandment at Baptism. In father son and holy ghost.

The Holy Spirit never enters a man and let’s him live like the world. That is the reason some people reject the Holy Spirit.

John 16:7-10
Reprove the world of
1. Sin
2. Righteousness
3. Justice

Comforter – Paraclete (Greek. Advocate. Helper. One who stands on your behalf)
*The Holy Spirit is your advocate on Earth
*Jesus is your advocate in heaven
1 John 2:1My little children, these things write I unto you, that ye sin not. And if any man sin, we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous:

Reprove – elegcho (Greek). To expose convict and convince.
(To bring to light, acknowledgement, and understanding.
Even the spirit of truth which the world cannot receive

The ministries of the Holy Ghost
Five Paraclete function mentioned in the book of John
1. He is the ever present help. “If you love me, you will obey what I command. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Comforter to be with you forever—the Spirit of truth.” (John 14:15-17)
2. He teaches and reminds of truth. “All this I have spoken while still with you. But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.” (John 14:25-26)
3. He testifies of Christ. “When the Counselor comes, whom I will send to you from the Father, the Spirit of truth who goes out from the Father, he will testify about me. And you also must testify, for you have been with me from the beginning.” (John 15:26-27)
4. He brings conviction. “Now I am going to him who sent me, yet none of you asks me, ‘Where are you going? Because I have said these things, you are filled with grief. But I tell you the truth: It is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Counselor will not come to you; but if I go, I will send him to you. When he comes, he will convict the world of guilt in regard to sin and righteousness and judgment: in regard to sin, because men do not believe in me; in regard to righteousness, because I am going to the Father, where you can see me no longer, and in regard to judgment, because the prince of this world now stands condemned.” (John 16:5-11)
5. He gives prophetic revelation. “I have much more to say to you, more than you can now bear. But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all truth. He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears, and he will tell you what is yet to come. He will bring glory to me by taking from what is mine and making it known to you. All that belongs to the Father is mine. That is why I said the Spirit will take from what is mine and make it known to you.” (John 16:12-15)

Leave a Reply

